Newsletter 95

 

 
AOAC Newsletter
 

IMPORTANT
AGM - Monday 25 March 2019

Come.....

  • Hear about the successes of the past year and our plans for the next.
  • Support Sarah, our fabulous Chair, and the rest of the hard working committee.
  • Have your say. 
  • Elect the new committee.
  • Receive a free drink!! (Gotta be worth it!)

Social - Friday 29 March 2019
The White Lion, next to Avon Gorge Hotel, Clifton
Join Kev and Carol for an evening social - there's a table booked for 30, join them from 7.30pm.

Sandbay Circular Walk - Sunday 31 March 2019
Join Alan for a fabulous walk along the North Somerset coast. Starting at a cafe, then walking along the the glorious sand dunes of the bay before a steep climb up onto undulating headland. From there we follow the trail taking in an ancient priory, volcanic features and old fisherman's hut before returning to the start for refreshment.  Walk is approximately 7 miles long, some steep hills but mainly even walking. 

Level walk B, reasonable level of fitness required as there are some steep ascents.

Exciting News re French Alps Trip - 2-18 August 2019
The French Alps trip has now become the two-centre French Alps and Ardeche Amazing Adventure!

https://aoac.co.uk/content/french-alps-and-ardeche-amazing-adventure-august-19

Rock Climbing, Walking, Via Ferrata, mountain and road cycling, visiting amazing grottes (limestone caverns), sun-tanning, ice cream eating and of course kayaking the spectacular gorge - a trip that takes 2 days and includes an overnight camp in the heart of the gorge. The kayaking in the Ardeche is suitable for all levels and you don't really need any previous experience if you want to hire Sit-On-Tops for the gorge trip. You'll be glad of the occasional dunking to cool down!

There is also a walkers path if anyone doesn't fancy the paddling trip. Everything has to be carried in/out.

There are a few other rivers in the area that offer a bit more challenging whitewater action (grade 2-2+) so suitable for recent 2 stars who've completed the Moving Water Safety and Skills course.

We'll be camping near Vallon Pont D'Arc where there are many great riverside campsites.

Then we have a 4 hour drive over to the Alps where we'll camp near Mont Dauphin, below the Napoleonic hill fort, which makes a nice evening stroll. Much the same activities in the Alps but all taken to the next level: multi-pitch climbing, steeper white water, higher altitude walks (including those to visit glaciers), big hills to cycle etc. Also we're hoping to do some white water rafting, canyoning and hydrospeeding. A full adventure-packed fortnight!

Foodwise, we'll eat out at restaurants a few times but there will be plenty of French bread, cheese, pâté, saucisson, BBQs, picnics, etc, all washed down with a glass or two of French wine and beer.

This is going to be an awesome trip.

Ardeche:

Alps:

And don't forget there is also the Julian Alps, Slovenia, trip in June to look forward to. More about that next time.

West Wales Discovery - 10-12 May 2019
Bargain! £12.50 for the weekend!
The AOAC has been asked to test run a brand new hostel in Cardigan, so for the very small cost of £12:50 you will get a two night stay and evening meal on arrival!
The hostel is run by a not for profit organisation (4CG) set up to reinvigorate this small market town, situated on the river Tivy estuary. We will be staying in a refurbished police station and courtroom, and the manager would welcome feedback on the facilities.

Cardigan (Aberteifi) is developing a reputation as a centre for high quality local produce and for local artists and artisans. The first national eisteddfod was held in Cardigan Castle in 1176, and the castle and its grounds have been recently refurbished.  The All Wales Path passes through the town, giving easy access to the coastal path, head north and you will come to the beautiful little cove of Mwnt with its ancient church on the headland.

If you venture south along the path you will follow the river along its way to Poppit Sands having passed through St Dogmaels.

There is also an off road cycle route and footpath that heads up river from the town centre leading to the West Wales Wildlife Centre and the Teifi valley beyond.

There are plenty of opportunities to explore on foot, by bike or paddling the sheltered waters of the estuary, so don’t delay, book now as places are limited and at this price they should go like hot little welsh cakes.

https://aoac.co.uk/content/discover-west-wales

Cotswolds Road Cycling Long Weekend - 28 June-1 July 2019
There are a couple of places available on Kev and Carol's four day road cycling trip in the Cotswolds. The group will be based in Chipping Norton in a hotel (which has a gym and a pool), and then will be off cycling each day for around 35 to 60 miles exploring the beautiful Cotswolds and surrounding villages at a pace of 12mph(ish).  

For those of you that haven't cycled with Kev and Carol before the emphasis is on fun and social camaraderie. A fairly good level of fitness will be required however and there will be a few slopes,

PLEASE NOTE only TWO spaces are left.1 twin room,  so would be good to have 2 guys or 2 girls or a couple that don't mind sharing,

Contact Kev to express your interest.

https://aoac.co.uk/content/cotswolds-road-cycling-long-weekend

If you have an event you particularly want me to advertise or you have any interesting news you'd like to share, a story to tell about an event you've participated in, or any more tips that may help club members, please let me know at [email protected] . Thank you.

See you soon
Cathy x

 

---------------------------------------------------------------

For activities that are weather dependent, there are often ad hoc events posted on the forum close to the day. It is worth subscribing to these as you will receive an email with the content of the message and a link to the page. Then you won't miss out on that last minute walk/climb/paddle/ride. Also, we have a Facebook page, a Twitter account (@aoacbristol) and an Instagram account (aoacbristol). If you haven't already, join the Facebook group where you will find postings of ad hoc events and photos of past events and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

If you want to know more about how the club works and how the committee makes decisions then please do look at the minutes

If you have any issues with the website or email please report these using the direct link in the members section or here: https://tinyurl.com/AOAC- web-issues 

Events

--- Title Location Date Activity Type

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 05/03/2019 Climbing

New

CANCELLED - Tuesday Evening Road Ride 20 miles - Night Ride Henbury Arms. Henbury Tue, 05/03/2019 Road cycling

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/03/2019 Social

New

40 mile road ride Portishead Marina Sat, 09/03/2019 Road cycling

---

2nd Leg Offa's Dyke Bigswier Bridge to Monmouth 8 miles Sun, 10/03/2019 Walking

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 12/03/2019 Climbing

New

Mountain Biking by Torchlight Leigh Woods and Ashton Court Wed, 13/03/2019 Mountain Biking

---

Scottish Winter Walking(CANCELLED DUE TO LACK OF SNOW) The Trossachs Wed, 13/03/2019to Sun, 17/03/2019 Walking

---

Spring 19 Conservation Exmoor Fri, 15/03/2019to Sun, 17/03/2019 Conservation

---

Advanced sea kayaking trip - NOW FULL! Pembrokeshire Fri, 15/03/2019to Mon, 18/03/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Mountain Biking for Beginners and Improvers Leigh Woods and Ashton Court Sat, 16/03/2019 Mountain Biking

New

Marlborough Downs 10 mile walk Hackpen Hill/Barbury Castle Sun, 17/03/2019 Walking

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 19/03/2019 Climbing

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 21/03/2019 Social

---

North Wales Multi-Activity trip North Wales - Cefn Birth (near Bala) Fri, 22/03/2019to Sun, 24/03/2019 Multi-activity

---

AGM Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Mon, 25/03/2019 Other

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 26/03/2019 Climbing

New

Mountain Biking by Torchlight Leigh Woods and Ashton Court Wed, 27/03/2019 Mountain Biking

New

Social White Lion Clifton Fri, 29/03/2019 Social

---

Sea kayaking South Pembrokeshire - intermed and advanced - FULL! South Pembrokeshire Fri, 29/03/2019to Sun, 31/03/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 02/04/2019 Climbing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/04/2019 Social

New

New Members Weekend Exmoor Fri, 05/04/2019to Sun, 07/04/2019 Walking

---

Equipment inventory check Tackley Road Sat, 06/04/2019 Other

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 09/04/2019 Climbing

New

Evening Road Ride The Downs Water Tower Wed, 10/04/2019 Road cycling

---

Intermed and advanced sea kayak 3 day weekend 11-14 April Anglesey Thu, 11/04/2019to Sun, 14/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Scotland Easter 2019 - multi-activity FULL reserve list Glen Coe / Fort William region Sun, 14/04/2019to Sun, 21/04/2019 Walking

---

Easter 2019 Scotland multi-activity trip (additional lodge from 15 April) Glen Coe / Fort William region Mon, 15/04/2019to Mon, 22/04/2019 Multi-activity

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 16/04/2019 Climbing

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 18/04/2019 Social

New

Evening Road Ride The Downs Water Tower Wed, 24/04/2019 Road cycling

---

Intermediate Sea Kayaking tbc Fri, 26/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Real Rock and Top Rope Techniques Symonds Yat Sat, 27/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Climbing

---

Coaching CPD Saltford The Shallows Sat, 27/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 01/05/2019 Social

---

May Day Getaway 2019 Camelford Fri, 03/05/2019to Mon, 06/05/2019 Multi-activity

---

Keynsham former Chocolate factory walk Keynsham Tue, 07/05/2019 Walking

---

Advanced sea kayaking 3 day weekend (hopefully Lundy) North Devon Thu, 09/05/2019to Sun, 12/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Malmesbury Circular Cycle Ride Malmesbury and Cotswold Water Park Sat, 11/05/2019 Road cycling

New

Walk in bluebell and garlic woods Cleeve Cleeve Sat, 11/05/2019 Walking

---

Canoe / Kayak Touring - Kennet and Avon Kennet and Avon Canal Sun, 12/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 13/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

3rd Stage of Offas Dyke Monmouth to Caggle Street Sun, 19/05/2019 Walking

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 20/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Conham River Park Evening Walk Hanham Bristol Tue, 21/05/2019 Walking

---

May Bank Holiday Trip to Pembrokeshire St Davids, Pembrokeshire Fri, 24/05/2019to Mon, 27/05/2019 Multi-activity

---

Introduction to sea kayaking day Pembrokeshire Sat, 25/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

AOAC Paddlesport Taster Day Avon Valley Country Park Sat, 01/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 03/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Hills of the Avon Valley - Swineford – Summer Evening Walk Swineford Tue, 04/06/2019 Walking

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 05/06/2019 Social

New

Circular walk close to Bristol, scenic and with archaeological interest Flax Bourton - 5 miles from Bristol Thu, 06/06/2019 Walking

---

River Wye Watery Wander for Canoes and Kayaks - Main Event Including Canoe Hire River Wye, Herefordshire Fri, 07/06/2019to Sun, 09/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

River Wye Watery Wander for Canoes and Kayaks - CAMPING ONLY River Wye, Herefordshire Fri, 07/06/2019to Sun, 09/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 10/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Multi-Activity Julian Alps trip (Slovenia) Bovec in Slovenia Sat, 15/06/2019to Sun, 30/06/2019 Multi-activity

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 17/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Blaise Castle Evening Walk Lawrence Weston, Bristol Tue, 18/06/2019 Walking

---

New Members Weekend Brecons Fri, 21/06/2019to Sun, 23/06/2019 Walking

---

Killarney National Park, Ireland - multi activity week Killarney, Republic of Ireland Sat, 22/06/2019to Sat, 29/06/2019 Multi-activity

---

Hut to hut trek, Slovenia Triglav National Park Sat, 22/06/2019to Wed, 26/06/2019 Walking

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 24/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Swedish Sea Kayak Adventure West Coast of Sweden Fri, 28/06/2019to Sun, 07/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Cotswolds road cycling long weekend Chipping Norton ox75ad Fri, 28/06/2019to Mon, 01/07/2019 Road cycling

---

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 01/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Evening Walk: Historic Bristol Docks Bristol Docks Tue, 02/07/2019 Walking

New

Course: British Canoeing Paddle Explore Award - Kayak Various Wed, 03/07/2019to Sun, 07/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/07/2019 Social

---

Cyclades Yacht Sailing Mykonos/Kos Greece Sat, 06/07/2019to Sat, 13/07/2019 Sailing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 08/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 15/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

West Mendip Rowberrow - Black Down - Beacon Batch Tue, 16/07/2019 Walking

---

Moving Water Safety and Skills Training River Wye Sat, 20/07/2019to Sun, 21/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

River Avon Touring Paddle River Avon Sun, 21/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 22/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Intermediate Sea Kayaking Weekend St David's, Pembrokeshire Fri, 26/07/2019to Sun, 28/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Course: British Canoeing Paddle Explore Award - Kayak Various Wed, 31/07/2019to Sun, 04/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

French Alps and Ardeche Amazing Adventure August 19 Ardeche Gorge and Haute Alpes, France Fri, 02/08/2019to Sun, 18/08/2019 Multi-activity

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 05/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 07/08/2019 Social

---

Purbeck Sea Kayaking Corfe Castle Dorset Thu, 08/08/2019to Sun, 11/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 12/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 19/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/09/2019 Social

---

Dodecanese Yacht Sailing 1 or 2 week option Rhodes, Greece Sat, 07/09/2019to Sat, 21/09/2019 Sailing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 02/10/2019 Social

New

New Members Weekend Swanage Fri, 11/10/2019to Sun, 13/10/2019 Walking

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/11/2019 Social

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/12/2019 Social

New

Pre-Christmas Walking and Mountain Biking Weekend Exmoor Fri, 06/12/2019to Sun, 08/12/2019 Walking

---

Malham Tarn New Year Trip 2019-2020 Yorkshire Dales Sat, 28/12/2019to Thu, 02/01/2020 Multi-activity

New

AOAC New Year 2020-2021 Trip: Rhyd-y-Creuau Field Centre, North Wales North Wales Tue, 29/12/2020to Sun, 03/01/2021 Multi-activity