Newsletter 93

 

 
AOAC Newsletter
 

URGENT
AGM - Monday 25 March 2019 - 8pm 

If you have any resolutions to make (proposals for change/adoption), these need to be with the secretary by Monday 25th February. Email [email protected] asap please.

Don't forget we will need nominations for at least two roles at the upcoming AGM -  Secretary and Web Officer are up for grabs. We are also looking for a Welfare Officer, a Social Co-ordinator and for people to help with the roles of Equipment Officer and Membership Officer. Please put yourself forward and help the club continue to succeed. Get yourself a proposer and a seconder and contact [email protected] 

Venue: Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas St, Bristol BS1 1UB

Bonus: Free drink for all who attend! 🍷🍸🍺🥃

Paddlesport Presentation Evening - Wednesday 27 February 2019
Upstairs at The Boardroom, St Nicholas Street 7pm

Join us for our annual Paddlesports Presentation Evening, where we will be showcasing some of the trips and activities involving sea kayaking, touring trips, open canoeing and white water adventures. 

This is a great introduction to paddling if you are interested in learning canoe or kayak. If you're more experienced it's a brilliant way to find out what activities you could join in on in the upcoming year. 

It's also a chance to meet some fellow paddlers - come along and have a drink and a chat and then enjoy the show 
 

 

Ski Trip - March 2020
A place has become available on the Ski Trip; it will be sharing a room with a man so please take that into consideration ;) 

Consistently rated among the top five resorts in the Alps; an authentic Tyrolean mountain village, with classic chocolate-box, icing-sugar wooden and stone chalets, St Anton is, however, more than just a pretty face. It boasts 305km of pistes, 200km of off-piste itinerary runs, and 55km² of challenging off-piste terrain, not to mention its fame as the spiritual home of après-ski, thanks to the infamous Mooserwirt and Krazy Kanguruh bars.

if you are interested in a week's skiing or boarding in the fabulous St Anton area please contact Paul & Nic at [email protected].

Full details can be found at https://aoac.co.uk/content/ski-and-board-trip-2019

New Members Weekend - 1-3 March 2019
There are still a few spaces left on the first New Members weekend of the year in Shropshire, staying at the YHA Clun Mill. Ideal first trip if you are new to the club, your evening meals are included in the price (pizza on Friday, group meal on Saturday) so you only have to bring breakfast and lunches, and there will be at least two walks each day accommodating different levels. There's a great bunch of people already booked on so go on, do yourself a favour, and book on now.

https://aoac.co.uk/content/new-members-weekend-2

If you have an event you particularly want me to advertise or you have any interesting news you'd like to share, a story to tell about an event you've participated in, or any more tips that may help club members, please let me know at [email protected] . Thank you.

See you soon
Cathy x

 

---------------------------------------------------------------

For activities that are weather dependent, there are often ad hoc events posted on the forum close to the day. It is worth subscribing to these as you will receive an email with the content of the message and a link to the page. Then you won't miss out on that last minute walk/climb/paddle/ride. Also, we have a Facebook page, a Twitter account (@aoacbristol) and an Instagram account (aoacbristol). If you haven't already, join the Facebook group where you will find postings of ad hoc events and photos of past events and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

If you want to know more about how the club works and how the committee makes decisions then please do look at the minutes

If you have any issues with the website or email please report these using the direct link in the members section or here: https://tinyurl.com/AOAC- web-issues 

Events

--- Title Location Date Activity Type

---

Outdoor First Aid Course Charterhouse Sat, 23/02/2019to Sun, 24/02/2019 First Aid

New

Road ride 46km East Bristol Sun, 24/02/2019 Road cycling

---

Last day for submission of resolutions by members AGM Mon, 25/02/2019 Other

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 26/02/2019 Climbing

New

Paddlesport Presentation Evening The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol, BS1 1UB Wed, 27/02/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

New Members Weekend Shropshire Fri, 01/03/2019to Sun, 03/03/2019 Walking

---

Ski and Board Trip 2019 St Anton, Austria Sat, 02/03/2019to Sat, 09/03/2019 Skiing/Boarding

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 05/03/2019 Climbing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/03/2019 Social

---

2nd Leg Offa's Dyke Bigswier Bridge to Monmouth 8 miles - date change Sun, 10/03/2019 Walking

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 12/03/2019 Climbing

---

Scottish Winter Walking The Trossachs Wed, 13/03/2019to Sun, 17/03/2019 Walking

---

Advanced sea kayaking trip - NOW FULL! Pembrokeshire Fri, 15/03/2019to Mon, 18/03/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Spring 19 Conservation Exmoor Fri, 15/03/2019to Sun, 17/03/2019 Conservation

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 19/03/2019 Climbing

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 21/03/2019 Social

---

North Wales Multi-Activity trip North Wales - Cefn Birth (near Bala) Fri, 22/03/2019to Sun, 24/03/2019 Multi-activity

---

AGM Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Mon, 25/03/2019 Other

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 26/03/2019 Climbing

---

Sea kayaking South Pembrokeshire - intermed and advanced - FULL! South Pembrokeshire Fri, 29/03/2019to Sun, 31/03/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 02/04/2019 Climbing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/04/2019 Social

New

New Members Weekend Exmoor Fri, 05/04/2019to Sun, 07/04/2019 Walking

---

Equipment inventory check Tackley Road Sat, 06/04/2019 Other

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 09/04/2019 Climbing

---

Intermed and advanced sea kayak 3 day weekend 11-14 April Anglesey Thu, 11/04/2019to Sun, 14/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Scotland Easter 2019 - multi-activity FULL reserve list Glen Coe / Fort William region Sun, 14/04/2019to Sun, 21/04/2019 Walking

---

Easter 2019 Scotland multi-activity trip (additional lodge from 15 April) Glen Coe / Fort William region Mon, 15/04/2019to Mon, 22/04/2019 Multi-activity

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Climbing Centre - Bedminster Tue, 16/04/2019 Climbing

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 18/04/2019 Social

New

Intermediate Sea Kayaking tbc Fri, 26/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Coaching CPD Saltford The Shallows Sat, 27/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Real Rock and Top Rope Techniques Symonds Yat Sat, 27/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Climbing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 01/05/2019 Social

---

May Day Getaway 2019 Camelford Fri, 03/05/2019to Mon, 06/05/2019 Multi-activity

---

Keynsham former Chocolate factory walk Keynsham Tue, 07/05/2019 Walking

New

Advanced sea kayaking 3 day weekend (hopefully Lundy) North Devon Thu, 09/05/2019to Sun, 12/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Malmesbury Circular Cycle Ride Malmesbury and Cotswold Water Park Sat, 11/05/2019 Road cycling

---

Canoe / Kayak Touring - Kennet and Avon Kennet and Avon Canal Sun, 12/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 13/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 20/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Conham River Park Evening Walk Hanham Bristol Tue, 21/05/2019 Walking

---

May Bank Holiday Trip to Pembrokeshire St Davids, Pembrokeshire Fri, 24/05/2019to Mon, 27/05/2019 Multi-activity

---

Introduction to sea kayaking day Pembrokeshire Sat, 25/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 03/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Hills of the Avon Valley - Swineford – Summer Evening Walk Swineford Tue, 04/06/2019 Walking

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 05/06/2019 Social

---

River Wye Watery Wander for Canoes and Kayaks - CAMPING ONLY River Wye, Herefordshire Fri, 07/06/2019to Sun, 09/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

River Wye Watery Wander for Canoes and Kayaks - Main Event Including Canoe Hire River Wye, Herefordshire Fri, 07/06/2019to Sun, 09/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 10/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Multi-Activity Julian Alps trip (Slovenia) Bovec in Slovenia Sat, 15/06/2019to Sun, 30/06/2019 Multi-activity

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 17/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Blaise Castle Evening Walk Lawrence Weston, Bristol Tue, 18/06/2019 Walking

---

New Members Weekend Brecons Fri, 21/06/2019to Sun, 23/06/2019 Walking

---

Killarney National Park, Ireland - multi activity week Killarney, Republic of Ireland Sat, 22/06/2019to Sat, 29/06/2019 Multi-activity

---

Hut to hut trek, Slovenia Triglav National Park Sat, 22/06/2019to Wed, 26/06/2019 Walking

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 24/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Cotswolds road cycling long weekend Chipping Norton ox75ad Fri, 28/06/2019to Mon, 01/07/2019 Road cycling

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 01/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Evening Walk: Historic Bristol Docks Bristol Docks Tue, 02/07/2019 Walking

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/07/2019 Social

---

Cyclades Yacht Sailing Mykonos/Kos Greece Sat, 06/07/2019to Sat, 13/07/2019 Sailing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 08/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 15/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

West Mendip Rowberrow - Black Down - Beacon Batch Tue, 16/07/2019 Walking

---

Moving Water Safety and Skills Training River Wye Sat, 20/07/2019to Sun, 21/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

River Avon Touring Paddle River Avon Sun, 21/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 22/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Intermediate Sea Kayaking Weekend St David's, Pembrokeshire Fri, 26/07/2019to Sun, 28/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

French Alps Amazing Adventure August 19 Haute Alpes, France Fri, 02/08/2019to Sun, 18/08/2019 Multi-activity

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 05/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 07/08/2019 Social

---

Purbeck Sea Kayaking Corfe Castle Dorset Thu, 08/08/2019to Sun, 11/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 12/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 19/08/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/09/2019 Social

---

Dodecanese Yacht Sailing 1 or 2 week option Rhodes, Greece Sat, 07/09/2019to Sat, 21/09/2019 Sailing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 02/10/2019 Social

New

New Members Weekend Swanage Fri, 11/10/2019to Sun, 13/10/2019 Walking

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/11/2019 Social

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/12/2019 Social

---

Malham Tarn New Year Trip 2019-2020 Yorkshire Dales Sat, 28/12/2019to Thu, 02/01/2020 Multi-activity