Newsletter 90

 

 
AOAC Newsletter
 

Social - Saturday 26 January 2019
Join Kev and Carol at The Grain Barge this evening for a catch up with members old and new. All places to eat in a group have been taken so there's going to be a good turnout; come along and join the throng.

Open Social and New Members Night - Wednesday 6 February 2019 7.30pm
Come to The Boardroom to find out about the club; who we are and what we get up to; or just come along to be social.

Last month having the Snowsport Planning Meeting on the same night gave the evening a great vibe; it was a very sociable night and many of those who came along have joined up. Welcome to you all!

This month we are combining this event with the Haute-Alpes Planning Meeting. If you are interested in the August trip to the Alps please come along at 7pm for logistics planning. As you know this will be an awesome trip and the more the merrier 😊

Ski Trip - March 2019
The committee would like to thank Paul and Nic for all their hard work arranging this year's ski trip, as a result of which the trip has not made a loss as was at one point feared. Well done guys!

To ensure that AOAC provides the best ski trip for its members Paul & Nic will be sending out a survey to gather all your thoughts and desires. Please complete this to make the job of organising next year's trip easier. We will also be looking for a group of people to do the honours; if you think you've got what it takes to organise a snowsports trip please step forward and let Wendy know at [email protected] 

Signing T & Cs
If you have received a message upon logging in to ask you to sign AOAC's T & Cs (or you haven't logged in for a while) please log in, go to 'My Account', click on 'Edit', scroll down the page and tick the boxes next to:

I have read, understood and agree to AOAC Terms and Conditions
Allow my contact details to be visible to organisers/members

You are required to tick both boxes to enable the club to operate under the terms of its insurance and also for GDPR. You do need to share your details with organisers and other members to enable communication regarding events, trips etc. and you will not be able to proceed until this has been done.

There was a system glitch that asked you to do this every time you logged on but this should now have been rectified.

AGM - 25 March 2018
Save the date! Your club needs you! And there's a free drink for all who attend! 🍷🍸🍺🥃

All committee positions will be up for election; we have interest for all roles except the following so we are specifically looking for people to stand as:

  • Secretary
  • Web Officer

Anybody can stand for any role and we welcome your interest. Please make Elin aware that you would like to stand at [email protected] Please note, you will need to find a proposer and seconder to support your proposal.

If you would like to join the happy band that is the AOAC committee please consider one of these roles. We only meet as a committee once a month (but only about 9 times a year) so it won't be too much of a commitment. Obviously you would need to put a few hours into whichever role you are elected for but this does count as voluntary work and will look good on your CV 😉

We are also looking for people to help with the roles of Equipment Officer and Membership Officer, and for a Social Co-ordinator.

Last date for submission of resolutions by members - 25 February 2019
Members can propose resolutions for discussion at the AGM - please see the club rules 30.3 which can be found by following this link https://aoac.co.uk/sites/default/files/AOAC_documents/Company_Info/AOACRules2016.pdf.

This is the last day prior to the AGM that a members resolution can be proposed.

Please remember that any resolution should be proposed and seconded by members.

Equipment Inventory Check - 6 April 2019
Clare needs help to count and check the equipment stored at the Tackley Road store. The more hands the lighter the work so please come along.... there will be CAKE!! It would be great if we had representatives from of all the activities along; this is your chance to give a little back :)

Air Bags etc.
A note re hiring kayaks:

Things to check when taking out a general purpose club kayak…

  • Check there are air bags in the back and that they are inflated!  This will make your kayak less heavy and easier to rescue if it fills with water.
  • Check there is a bung in the back.  This will stop the boat from filling up with water, unless you capsize…
  • Check that all the bolts for the foot plates are in place.  This will keep the foot plate securely in place. 

Spares of these items are kept in stores so you shouldn’t need to take them from another kayak!

New Walking Co-ordinator Required
Shaun is stepping down from this role and we would therefore like someone to take his place as walking co-ordinator. Most of the hard work has been done; risk assessments, SoPs etc have been drawn up. All we need is someone to lead the planning meetings, co-ordinate the walk leaders and make sure there is a programme of walks on the calendar. You don't have to lead all the walks or attend them, just ensure that we have a variety of lengths, levels, timings etc on the calendar.

If you are interested please email Shaun at [email protected]  Maybe you'd be willing to share the role with another member? Let Shaun know, he may be able to buddy you up with someone.

 

Cyclades Sailing Trip - 6-13 July 2019
Please note: If you are interested in this fabulous trip starting in Mykonos and finishing in Kos, you will need to book before the end of February otherwise the places will become available to non-members. 

No previous sailing experience is needed, but this is the chance to learn and/or improve helming, navigating, sail trimming, and skippering. You will also get plenty of opportunities for swimming, snorkeling, yoga, walking or jogging ashore, generally helping to run a world girdling 58 foot yacht, and then there is always the opportunity to sit back and relax as your friends sail you onto the next leg.   

You have more time to book on the September trip which will start and finish in Rhodes. I will let you know the deadline for this in due course.

Spending the Surplus
Just a reminder, if you have a surplus on an event you organise, say the contingency sum, we do encourage you to use this for the benefit of the participants - maybe cake? Or put it towards an evening meal? Or celebrate a participant's birthday? These can be the little extras that make an event extra special 🤩

If you have an event you particularly want me to advertise or you have any interesting news you'd like to share, a story to tell about an event you've participated in, or any more tips that may help club members, please let me know at [email protected] . Thank you.

See you soon
Cathy x

 

---------------------------------------------------------------

For activities that are weather dependent, there are often ad hoc events posted on the forum close to the day. It is worth subscribing to these as you will receive an email with the content of the message and a link to the page. Then you won't miss out on that last minute walk/climb/paddle/ride. Also, we have a Facebook page, a Twitter account (@aoacbristol) and an Instagram account (aoacbristol). If you haven't already, join the Facebook group where you will find postings of ad hoc events and photos of past events and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

If you want to know more about how the club works and how the committee makes decisions then please do look at the minutes

If you have any issues with the website or email please report these using the direct link in the members section or here: https://tinyurl.com/AOAC- web-issues 

Events

--- Title Location Date Activity Type

---

Club social Hotwells Sat, 26/01/2019 Social

---

Kayaking Trip Talybont to Crickhowell Sun, 27/01/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

White Water Safety and Rescue Day (AOAC Internal) Dartmoor - River Dart Country Park Sat, 02/02/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/02/2019 Social

---

Baskerville Multi-activity Weekend Hay on Wye Fri, 08/02/2019to Sun, 10/02/2019 Multi-activity

---

Yorkshire Dales - A Wilde Winter Wander Settle Thu, 14/02/2019to Sun, 17/02/2019 Walking

---

Offa's Dyke 1st section - moderate 12 mile walk Chepstow Sun, 17/02/2019 Walking

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 21/02/2019 Social

---

Outdoor First Aid Course Charterhouse Sat, 23/02/2019to Sun, 24/02/2019 First Aid

New

Last day for submission of resolutions by members AGM Mon, 25/02/2019 Other

New

Paddlesport Presentation Evening The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol, BS1 1UB Wed, 27/02/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

New Members Weekend Shropshire Fri, 01/03/2019to Sun, 03/03/2019 Walking

---

Ski and Board Trip 2019 St Anton, Austria Sat, 02/03/2019to Sat, 09/03/2019 Skiing/Boarding

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/03/2019 Social

---

2nd Leg Offa's Dyke Bigswier Bridge to Monmouth 8 miles - date change Sun, 10/03/2019 Walking

---

Scottish Winter Walking The Trossachs Thu, 14/03/2019to Sun, 17/03/2019 Walking

---

Advanced sea kayaking trip - NOW FULL! Pembrokeshire Fri, 15/03/2019to Mon, 18/03/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 21/03/2019 Social

---

North Wales Multi-Activity trip North Wales - Cefn Birth (near Bala) Fri, 22/03/2019to Sun, 24/03/2019 Multi-activity

New

AGM Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Mon, 25/03/2019 Other

---

Sea kayaking South Pembrokeshire - intermed and advanced - FULL! South Pembrokeshire Fri, 29/03/2019to Sun, 31/03/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Brexit Party Central Bristol Fri, 29/03/2019 Social

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/04/2019 Social

New

New Members Weekend Exmoor Fri, 05/04/2019to Sun, 07/04/2019 Walking

---

Equipment inventory check Tackley Road Sat, 06/04/2019 Other

New

Intermed and advanced sea kayak 3 day weekend 11-14 April Anglesey Thu, 11/04/2019to Sun, 14/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Scotland Easter 2019 - multi-activity FULL reserve list Glen Coe / Fort William region Sun, 14/04/2019to Sun, 21/04/2019 Walking

---

Easter 2019 Scotland multi-activity trip (additional lodge from 15 April) Glen Coe / Fort William region Mon, 15/04/2019to Mon, 22/04/2019 Multi-activity

---

Committee Meeting - start at 19:30 The Ram, Park Street, Bristol Thu, 18/04/2019 Social

---

Coaching CPD Saltford The Shallows Sat, 27/04/2019to Sun, 28/04/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 01/05/2019 Social

---

May Day Getaway 2019 Camelford Fri, 03/05/2019to Mon, 06/05/2019 Multi-activity

New

Canoe / Kayak Touring - Kennet and Avon Kennet and Avon Canal Sun, 12/05/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

May Bank Holiday Trip to Pembrokeshire St Davids, Pembrokeshire Fri, 24/05/2019to Mon, 27/05/2019 Multi-activity

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 05/06/2019 Social

---

River Wye Watery Wander for Canoes and Kayaks - CAMPING ONLY River Wye, Herefordshire Fri, 07/06/2019to Sun, 09/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

River Wye Watery Wander for Canoes and Kayaks - Main Event Including Canoe Hire River Wye, Herefordshire Fri, 07/06/2019to Sun, 09/06/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Multi-Activity Julian Alps trip (Slovenia) Bovec in Slovenia Sat, 15/06/2019to Sun, 30/06/2019 Multi-activity

---

New Members Weekend Brecons Fri, 21/06/2019to Sun, 23/06/2019 Walking

New

Hut to hut trek, Slovenia Triglav National Park Sat, 22/06/2019to Wed, 26/06/2019 Walking

---

Killarney National Park, Ireland - multi activity week Killarney, Republic of Ireland Sat, 22/06/2019to Sat, 29/06/2019 Multi-activity

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/07/2019 Social

---

Cyclades Yacht Sailing Mykonos/Kos Greece Sat, 06/07/2019to Sat, 13/07/2019 Sailing

New

River Avon Touring Paddle River Avon Sun, 21/07/2019 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

French Alps Amazing Adventure August 19 Haute Alpes, France Fri, 02/08/2019to Sun, 18/08/2019 Multi-activity

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 07/08/2019 Social

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/09/2019 Social

---

Dodecanese Yacht Sailing 2 weeks Rhodes, Greece Sat, 07/09/2019to Sat, 21/09/2019 Sailing

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 02/10/2019 Social

New

New Members Weekend Swanage Fri, 11/10/2019to Sun, 13/10/2019 Walking

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/11/2019 Social

---

Open social for potential, new and existing members Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/12/2019 Social

---

Malham Tarn New Year Trip 2019-2020 Yorkshire Dales Sat, 28/12/2019to Thu, 02/01/2020 Multi-activity