Newsletter 115

 

AOAC Newsletter
 

AGM 2020 - UPDATE
The AGM will be held on 31st  March 2020 at The Southbank Club, Dean Lane, Bedminster, BS3 1DB at 8pm.

Don't forget there's a free drink for all who attend! 🍷🍸🍺🥃 Please get there around 7.30pm to ensure you get yours before the meeting starts.

All roles are up for grabs so if you're interested in joining the committee get yourself proposed and seconded by email to the secretary at [email protected] . Some of the current committee are planning to stand for roles again but it would be great to have more than one person stand for each post :)  If you would like more details on any of the roles please contact the Chair or the current officer (https://aoac.co.uk/content/contacts). There will be plenty of support when taking on new roles.

Members can propose resolutions for discussion at the AGM. Please remember that any resolution should be proposed and seconded by other members and needs to reach the secretary by 3 March 2020.

Marketing Photos
Just a reminder that if you use any images from the internet for marketing your events on Facebook or Twitter please ensure they are labelled for reuse. To check click on Images, then Tools (on RHS), then Usage Rights, then Labelled for Reuse. Use only these images.

 

North Wales Multi-Activity Weekend - 13-15 March 2020

There are still spaces available on this trip but Sarah needs to know if you're going by this Friday 28th February.
 

North Wales - Cefn Brith (near Bala) is a great location for many activities; we have leaders for Mountain biking and paddling. 

Mountain Biking: Shaun will be leading a more advanced group one day with some distance, cross country. Pete M. will also lead some MTBing.

Kayaking: There are many great rivers nearby. This trip is suitable for all levels, although the minimum is 2 star standard (you don't actually need the qualification) with some safety training (eg. the club's MWSS or WWSRT). 

https://aoac.co.uk/content/north-wales-multi-activity-trip-2020

 

March New Members Weekend - 20-23 March 2020

Although the trip appears to be fully booked there are a few spaces available for new or recently joined members on the first New Members Weekend of 2020 - a perfect opportunity to meet Club members and get stuck into some lovely outdoor pursuits!  All this takes place against the backdrop of the beautiful Exmoor National Park, about a 1 hour and forty minute drive from Bristol.  As well as the outdoor activities, you will enjoy the friendly, sociable atmosphere for which these weekends are famous.

We will be staying at a bunkhouse within easy reach of the North Devon coast and on the Southern fringe of Exmoor National Park.  There are two options available, walking and mountain biking. Meals will be provided on both the Friday and Saturday nights, so you only need to bring breakfasts and lunches.

There is a climbing wall on site and experienced climbers can register to use the facility after the main activities.

If you are a new or recently joined member and wish to join us for fun, exercise and fresh air, contact Pete and book your place using the following link:

https://aoac.co.uk/content/march-new-members-weekend-climbingwalkingmtb-etc
 

Equipment Hire - take a look at all the equipment that can be hired (at very reasonable prices).

Did you know we have the following available for hire?:

14 sea kayaks
20 white water kayaks
2 crossover kayaks
2 open canoes
Various paddling accessories

5 mountain bikes
Various cycling accessories

Various walking/climbing/caving kit

>60 maps
>30 books

Slow cookers
BBQ
Beach games pack
Volleyball net
Body boards
Coleman event shelter 15ft x 15ft
Leaders packs

If you organise an event and feel that any of the above would enhance the experience for all participants or is/are available for all to use then there is no cost to hire. Take a look at the equipment list and familiarise yourself with it....you might want to try a different activity and don't want to buy until you've tried??

 

Do You Know?

We had a website focus group meeting recently that was very useful and informative. Some great points were raised which the Web Team will take on board within the revamp of the website.

A few things worth noting (if you didn't already know):

Your Personal Account
Go to 'My Account' on the top menu.

There you will find the following tabs:

Edit Details - as it says on the tin
Change Password - ditto
Subscriptions - tick the activities for which you wish to be notified of forum activity
Track - track your activity
Website Activity - find all your website contributions, forum comments, payment request forms etc
Your Training Subs - the list of all subsidies you have received
File Browser - a file storage facility
My Orders/Bookings - the list of all events booked all in one place, search by Event Date, Purchase Date or Order No.

Buy Place on Event - you can book on more that one event then go to Shopping Cart and pay in one go.

Leading an Event - some members are still not clear on this - you do not need to be a leader to organise an event. You choose the what, where and when, then you find the appropriate leaders to lead the activities. Go to 'Email Activity Leaders', select the relevant activities and email the lot - somebody is bound to offer to lead :)

Becoming an Activity Leader - most activity leaders are approved within the club. If you are interested in being a leader of your chosen activity then contact the appropriate Activity Coordinator who will talk you through the process. It's often as simple as you co-leading an event with a supervisor/assessor who will approve you to lead future events.

If you have an event you particularly want me to advertise or you have any interesting news you'd like to share, a story to tell about an event you've participated in, or any more tips that may help club members, please let me know at [email protected] . Thank you.

See you soon
Cathy x

 

---------------------------------------------------------------

For activities that are weather dependent, there are often ad hoc events posted on the forum close to the day. It is worth subscribing to these as you will receive an email with the content of the message and a link to the page. Then you won't miss out on that last minute walk/climb/paddle/ride. Also, we have a Facebook page, a Twitter account (@aoacbristol) and an Instagram account (aoacbristol). If you haven't already, join the Facebook group where you will find postings of ad hoc events and photos of past events and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

If you want to know more about how the club works and how the committee makes decisions then please do look at the minutes

If you have any issues with the website or email please report these using the direct link in the members section or here: https://tinyurl.com/AOAC- web-issues 

Events

--- Title Location Date Activity Type

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Tue, 25/02/2020 Climbing

---

Committee Meeting Inn on the Green, Horfield, BS7 0PA Thu, 27/02/2020 Other

---

Evening climbing indoors TCA - The Church St Werburg's Thu, 27/02/2020 Climbing

---

Beginners/Low Intermediates Ski Trip 2020 - FULL Bansko, Bulgaria Sat, 29/02/2020 to Sat, 07/03/2020 Skiing/Boarding

---

Les Arcs Intermediate/Advance Ski and Board Trip 2020 Les Arcs, France Sat, 29/02/2020 to Sat, 07/03/2020 Skiing/Boarding

---

Mendips Walk Axbridge Sat, 29/02/2020 Walking

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Tue, 03/03/2020 Climbing

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/03/2020 Social

---

North Pennines Walking Weekend Alston, North Pennines Thu, 05/03/2020 to Sun, 08/03/2020 Multi-activity

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Tue, 10/03/2020 Climbing

---

North Wales Multi-Activity trip 2020 North Wales - Cefn Brith (near Bala) Fri, 13/03/2020 to Sun, 15/03/2020 Multi-activity

---

Evening Climbing Redpoint Tue, 17/03/2020 Climbing

---

March New Members Weekend - places still available for new and recently joined members South Molton, Devon Fri, 20/03/2020 to Sun, 22/03/2020 Multi-activity

---

Winter Sun Rock Climbing - Malta and Gozo Malta and Gozo Sun, 22/03/2020 to Sun, 29/03/2020 Climbing

---

Equipment inventory check Main store tackley road Sat, 28/03/2020 Other

New

AGM The Southbank Club, Dean Lane, Bedminster, BS3 1DB Tue, 31/03/2020 Other

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 01/04/2020 Social

---

AOAC Easter 2020 - Scotland Birchbrae Highland Lodges, Onich, Nr Glencoe Sun, 05/04/2020 to Sun, 12/04/2020 Multi-activity

---

Wednesday Evening Road Ride Long Ashton, Bristol Wed, 15/04/2020 Road cycling

New

St George's Day pub crawl Bristol City Centre Sat, 25/04/2020 Social

---

Neuadd Horseshoe Brecon Beacons Sun, 26/04/2020 Walking

---

Sea kayaking - Advanced Rough Water Adventure - 5 days Anglesey Tue, 28/04/2020 to Sun, 03/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Wednesday Evening Road Ride Long Ashton, Bristol Wed, 29/04/2020 Road cycling

New

Intro/Intermediate Sea Kayaking Weekend Purbeck / Dorset Fri, 01/05/2020 to Sun, 03/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

SAVE THE DATE: Chianti Aficionado Tour Tuscany Fri, 01/05/2020 to Sun, 10/05/2020 Walking

---

Chew Valley Three Peaks Circular Walk North Somerset Sat, 02/05/2020 Walking

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 04/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 06/05/2020 Social

New

Saundersfoot (Pembrokeshire) Bank Holiday Weekend Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire Thu, 07/05/2020 to Sun, 10/05/2020 Multi-activity

---

Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains Trek Brecon Beacons Thu, 07/05/2020 to Sun, 10/05/2020 Walking

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 11/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Wednesday Evening Road Ride Long Ashton, Bristol Wed, 13/05/2020 Road cycling

New

Introduction to Sea Kayaking Isle of Purbeck Sat, 16/05/2020 to Sun, 17/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 18/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Sea kayaking Pembrokeshire bank holiday Pembrokeshire Fri, 22/05/2020 to Mon, 25/05/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Bank Holiday CAMPERVAN Pembroke St David's, Pembrokeshire Fri, 22/05/2020 to Mon, 25/05/2020 Multi-activity

---

Bank Holiday CAMPING in Pembrokeshire St David's, Pembrokeshire Fri, 22/05/2020 to Mon, 25/05/2020 Multi-activity

---

Wednesday Evening Road Ride Long Ashton, Bristol Wed, 27/05/2020 Road cycling

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 01/06/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 03/06/2020 Social

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 08/06/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Wednesday Evening Road Ride Long Ashton, Bristol Wed, 10/06/2020 Road cycling

New

SAVE THE DATE: Bavarian or French Alps trip Bavaria (Garmisch-Partenkirchen) or French alps (Guillestre) Sat, 13/06/2020 to Sun, 28/06/2020 Multi-activity

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 15/06/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Isles of Scilly Sea Kayak & Camping Trip Isles of Scilly Fri, 19/06/2020 to Sat, 27/06/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 22/06/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 29/06/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 01/07/2020 Social

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 06/07/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 13/07/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 20/07/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Pyrenees Hut to Hut Trek - Full French Pyrenees Fri, 24/07/2020 to Fri, 31/07/2020 Walking

---

Intermediate Sea Kayaking Weekend St David's, Pembrokeshire Sat, 25/07/2020 to Sun, 26/07/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 27/07/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 03/08/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 05/08/2020 Social

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 10/08/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 17/08/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Kayak Bristol Loop Bristol Sun, 23/08/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

New

Coached Kayaking & Canoeing Avon Valley Country Park Mon, 24/08/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 02/09/2020 Social

---

Sailing the Idyllic Turquoise Coast! Turkey Sat, 05/09/2020 to Sat, 12/09/2020 Sailing

---

Sea kayak adventure in Sardinia FULL! La Maddalena Archipeligo Sardinia Sat, 19/09/2020 to Sat, 26/09/2020 Kayaking & Canoeing

---

New Members Weekend Exmoor Fri, 25/09/2020 to Sun, 27/09/2020 Walking

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 07/10/2020 Social

New

New members weekend Brecon Fri, 30/10/2020 to Sun, 01/11/2020 Walking

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 04/11/2020 Social

---

North Devon Coastal Walking Weekend Boscastle Fri, 06/11/2020 to Sun, 08/11/2020 Walking

---

Potential, New and Existing Members Social Evening Upstairs at The Boardroom, 20 St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB Wed, 02/12/2020 Social

---

AOAC New Year 2020-2021 Trip: Rhyd-y-Creuau Field Centre, North Wales North Wales Tue, 29/12/2020 to Sun, 03/01/2021 Multi-activity